Leicestershire Over 35's County Squash Championships

Sunday 21st April saw the finals of the Leicestershire Over 35's County Squash Championships held at David Lloyd Leisure Club Narborough.
Entrants came from around the county to enjoy very tough but enjoyable squash. James Tutt (Leicestershire Tennis Club) faced the greatest 1st round test against an unseeded and largely unknown Jez Cromie (Charnwood).  Jez won 3/1 and eventually made the semi finals. A great effort but always looked second best to Adam Bagley (Hermitage).  Hinckley man Sam Bennett, and David Lloyd members Faz Dean, Imran Haq, and Robert van der Leit all experienced their first competitive squash tornaments, but all found how difficult it is to overcome experienced players.
The quarter finals was the end of the line for Matt Waddington(DLL) who struggled to deal with number 1 seed Martin Geear (Mkt Harborough), and Dave Wood (Hinckley Squash) received little change from a very fit Steve Smith (Leicestershire Tennis). Cromie got past 3rd seed Nick Marshall (DLL) who pulled up lame. And to reach the semi's, Bagley out played James Harris (DLL).
In the plate event Paul Muttock (Leicester Squash Club) had to play well to win the plate title ahead of Mohammed Shahzad (DLL).
The 1st semi final witnessed a brilliant 3/2 match between Martin Geear and Steve Smith with Geear taking the 5th game after an hours play to meet Bagley in the final.
Martin Geear and Adam Bagley battled through one of the best finals seen in recent years. Bagley came back from 2/0 down to create a winner takes all final game. Geear started the scoring, before being overtaken by Bagley who looked confident. He enjoyed 2 championship balls before Geear kept his nerve to take that game 10/8, the match 3/2 and the title of 2013 Over 35 Leicestershire Squash Champion.
Congratulations to Martin, and to all competitors for making a great tournament.


Mark Newitt presenting the Mens Over 35's Leicestershire's County Cup to Martin Geear

Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4 Racquetball League (2023-24) League Rules - 2023-24Club Directory 23/24 SeasonLeicestershire squash 2019 AGM minutesLoan List contacts 23/24Racquet Ball Club Directory 2023/24Racquet Ball Rules 2023Scorecard TutorialThe Loan System
Ladies League (2023) AGM Meeting Minutes 2022Club Directory 2022/23Ladies Team Rankings 2023/24Rules and Regulations 2022/23 Archive
Summer Leagues
LSC Business League Div 1 (2023) LSC Business League Div 2 (2023)
No data for
current season!
Previous Years Results Club Directory Club Lists Player Directory News Archive Events Archive
Committee Members 2017 - 2018List of LJSRA Boys Squash County ChampionsList of LJSRA Girls Squash County Champions
Leicestershire County CoachesLeicestershire County Committee Members
Logout Change Password